top of page

Can love really be unconditional???

People constantly say that we can love unconditionally. Is this true? I can only give my opinion on this based on my own experience so I know that not everyone will agree and that is ok.


My answer is that yes, we can love unconditionally but not everyone accepts our unconditional love. In my eyes and what I understand, unconditional love is accepting people at their worst, in all situations but it does not mean accepting their wrongs. If I love someone unconditionally that means I am going to tell you when I feel you are right or wrong (when appropriate) and if I have to, I will love you from afar. It means my love for you has not changed. Maybe the circumstances of life have changed but not my love. Let me give an example of what I mean.


DISCLAIMER: This is only an example not related to real life.


Lets say that you have someone extremely close to you that commits a murder. That person confesses what they did to you. What do you do? What do you tell them? Do you keep the secret? Do you tell them to turn themselves in?


Personally, yes, the streets say snitches get stitches but I don’t live my life the way of the street. I try to be an honest person. What advice would I give? Turn yourself in or I will in a certain amount of time. I am a firm believer that the company you keep is a reflection of who you are as a person. If I want to teach my son to be honest, then I want to live an honest lifestyle and also expect those close to me to do the same. No, we are not perfect beings but in the end we can take accountability for our actions. It doesn’t mean the people in my life are perfect but they are accountable for their actions.


Loving unconditionally to me means guiding our loved ones to do the right thing, helping them be accountable for their actions, loving them at their worst, listening to them, allowing them to vent without giving an opinion at times and never giving up on them. No matter what there will always be forgiveness in my heart for those I love unconditionally. It doesn’t mean it will always be a smooth ride. There are going to be turbulent moments throughout but know that if the love is truly unconditional, you can survive it all.


Sounds so corny doesn’t it? But trust me, it is real. You may think your family and friends are against you but more then likely they are not. They are thinking about what they think Is best for you. If the love is truly unconditional between you, you should be able to have those important conversations to discuss your differences and set the record straight. Hold your head high by trying to be the best version of you and being accountable for what you do in life.


Sometimes love hurts and people let you down but don’t let those things change the love you have for them. You will know in time if they are in your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime but while they are a part of your life, truly love people unconditionally and show kindness regardless of the time they are in your life.


There have been many times I don’t agree with what my loved ones do. I will say I don’t agree with your decision but if it makes you happy I support you, I respect it- as long as I know they are not hurting themselves or someone else. I’m no where near perfect or no where near the person I am meant to be but I would like to think I’ve learned many things along the way. Loving unconditionally is not an easy thing to do sometimes but know it is possible.


For those I have offended that I feel as though I have loved unconditionally, if I never said it, I will say it now, I am sorry and please know that my love has not changed - only the circumstances of life have. I forgive those that have offended me and will continue to wish nothing but the best for anyone that has crossed my path. We are all a work in progress. If you think you’re done growing as a person, just know that there is more growing in store for you!


L.D.A



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Growing In Love

Understanding love is not something I thought I would ever fully know.  Am I knowing love now?  I am pretty sure I am.  What I can say is that I am growing in love. While that may sound a little weird

The Mind

I don’t think we realize how powerful our mind truly is. The mind is something that (I say) plays games with us. There’s so much we let our mind control that maybe we shouldn’t. Trust me when I say

The Unexpected

Have you ever had a time where things didn’t go as planned but you ended up having the time of your life? Have you just gone with your gut and things just worked out? What about meeting someone unex

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page